Faceless Vendor | Real Happiness

This afternoon, my mother dragged me to the local market. I detest that place. So much crowd and noise. But I had no option, I had to oblige to carry the loaded bags while my mom shopped.
My mother was haggling with a vendor and it was getting on my nerves. I decided to leave my mom to her business and walked away to a lesser crowded place to get some air. I reclined against a motorbike and was casually looking around, while waiting for my mom.

While standing there and cursing everything , I saw a man. A vendor selling plastic stuff on his bicycle cart . With unpleasant looks and reek fabric around his slim body. Walking calmly with a funny smile on his face. Sauntering down the street like a king in his frame without any moisiness or hesitation. Just walking , no one even bothering to pay him a look. But the man was happy.

When he passed by me , I took a quick look at his cart. There was just some plastic tumblers and other articles . All the vendibles he had would not even sum up to a thousand rupees. I just thought about what would be his maximum profit of a day , maybe not more than 200-300 I guess. But the shiny thing I noticed about him was. He was smiling ( Maybe I was even jealous ). A thin poor vendor dragging his cart in a small noisy street with no one even bothering to accept his presence ,  just smiling . Whereas a boy like me , who drove his mother to the market in a decent car  , who wears fancy clothing  even wears watches and knows english and French and even about stuff like technology ,  was unhappy in that place. Just cursing the crowd and everything around .

Two humans , one with nothing fancy and shiny around him was happy and smiling . But the one with many things to boast about was downcast and mute. It was then when I realized that it just takes nothing to be happy. Even a fake smile on your face can cheer you within. Your possessions and status don’t make you happy , but your positive nature does.

When we returned from the market . While driving I got a smile on my face about how a faceless man taught me a lesson which the chapters in book couldn’t.

Hey reader ,if you have any suggestions or views you can share them in the comment section or message me. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

